Make your own free website on


 About Authors





About Quaid-i-Azam University


Since Its founding in 1965 as a national institute for higher learning and research, 'Quaid-i-Azam University' has grown into a institution of highest academic standards.

              The University was initially named as ‘University of  Islamabad’ and was housed in rented buildings  in Satellite Town, Rawalpindi. It started with teaching and research programs for M.Phil and Ph.D degrees. In 1970 it was decided to start M.SC degree programs of  acceptable standards for graduates from all regions of the country. In 1972 it moved to its present premises and was renamed Quaid-i-Azam University in 1976 at the time of centenary celebrations of the founder of Pakistan.

          The University is rated as one of the top public institutions of higher education in Pakistan with  its qualified teams of  teachers and researchers. More than 80% of the teachers hold doctoral degrees with experience of working in renowned universities of the world. The University has the distinction of having a large number of distinguished scientists and educationists as its faculty members, some holding national awards and international recognition. The senior staff in each department holds a position of prominence and high standing in their area of expertise and university staff assists the public and private sectors in a consultative and advisory capacity.

            The graduates of Quaid-i-Azam University receive acceptance in universities and research institutes the world over. The University has established research collaboration with selected Universities in the United States, Europe and South Asia.

           University presently admits about 550 students in it’s Master’s programs. Total enrolment figure stood at 2650+ in 1998 with about 680 students enrolled for M.Phil and Ph.D degrees and remaining for the Masters. The University has awarded 9999 M.SC degrees 1908 M.Phil and 178 Ph.D degrees (till 1997) in Natural and Social Sciences since it’s establishment.







Muhammad Aamer & Imran Sharif Butt (all rights reserved) 2000.